Mental health

Listen to your inner guide & find happiness

Hey gorgeous,

Today I want to share something with you that has been so much on my mind lately. My inner guide. Some refer to it as their inner voice, their gut feeling, intuition, instinct or spirit.

We all have an inner guide, and no one’s inner guide is stronger than anyone else – some people are just more tuned into their inner guide.

Your inner guide is what your heart and body is telling you – not what your mind is telling you. It’s that little voice inside you that tells you when something is just right or when something is utterly wrong. You might not know why this is right and you can’t really explain it. You just know it FEELS right in your body and in your heart.

I just started practicing listening to my inner guide – and when I say just, I literally mean just. I didn’t start tuning into my inner guide until a little while after I moved to London so I am in NO way an expert on this subject – I just want to share my experience with you because it is pretty amazing.

Ever since I have started to tune in and actually listen to my inner guide, I have become happier, more at peace with myself, my decisions and my life, I feel more content and my mind is more calm. It feels like a ton of weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

Listening to your inner guide isn’t hard and it doesn’t necessarily mean you have to do something drastic in your life – not at all. To show you I’ll give you an example of what listening to my inner guide looked like yesterday.

Yesterday I had made plans to go to a dance class in the evening with my aunt and cousin but when I got to work in the morning and saw how absolutely gorgeous the weather was, I just knew I wanted to be outside and enjoy the sun and explore London. My mind told me it might be better to go to the dance class and exercise, that it would be rude to not come, that it would be good for me……

But my INNER GUIDE was telling me something else. It was telling me to go for a short walk in the park during my lunch break, then take the Tube to one of my favorite cafés in London (The Mae Deli) for a coffee and a piece of cake after work, and then take the Tube to Notting Hill and go for a walk in the sunshine and look at all the beautiful houses (I LOVE Notting Hill! It might be my favorite neighborhood in London. Or the entire world).

I decided to listen to my inner guide because I knew that would make me happy. And guess what? I had the most amazing afternoon. I had so much fun, I felt happy, at peace and I literally couldn’t stop smiling. I was just so happy.

Also, I found a little boutique in Notting Hill with clothes that are just my style. The clothes are unique, colorful and funny. Clothes that make me smile, feel good in my own skin, love my body and just feel like ME. I ended up buying three dresses. I felt so happy when I left the shop and I can’t wait to go dancing around the streets in these dresses and a pair of cute heels (in fact, I am wearing one of the dresses now, and I feel like a goddess!).

When I got home I had a lovely dinner, chatted with my family and told them how wonderful and perfect my afternoon had been. I even called my sweet mom and told her about my day and send her photos of Notting Hill and my dresses. Honestly, I think this made her day as well – after everything I’ve been through my family and friends just want to see me smile, laugh and enjoy myself and life again.

Had I listened to my mind and gone to the dance class I can guarantee you my day hadn’t been nearly as fulfilling, perfect and happy, and I wouldn’t have SMILED myself to sleep.

Your inner guide wants you to be happy and if you listen to her – I have discovered – she will lead you to happiness, peace and contentment. It might not come right away but keep listening to her, and you WILL end up so happy and peaceful. I know this to be true because I am grieving from the loss of my boyfriend, and if I can find happiness, peace and contentment by listening to my inner guide, then I am pretty sure everyone can.

Love & Happiness,

Heidi

3 thoughts on “Listen to your inner guide & find happiness

  1. Heidi, I have never been where you are, but close. You have balls, to share with whomever, your hardest moments and suggest ways out. You are one strong woman. You see and share the simple things of life. Color, sunshine, a cuppa. Sending you warm thoughts, strength, courage. I have no doubt you will live a life full and rewarding. ” The softest things in the world overcome the hardest things in the world. ” Lao Tzu

    Like

  2. Even though we have never met, I feel so glad to read that you are doing well and that you are feeling happy. I also think it’s important to listen to your body and your mind because they very often tell you what they need although I keep ignoring them because I’m really stubborn and think that they are only impulses but I should do the same as you.

    Sending you lots of love.
    xo Cristina

    Like

    1. Ah, thank you so much, Christina! I know we’ve never met but honestly I feel like we have. It makes me so happy to read that you care about me. Thank you so much for your support and love. It really means the world to me ❤
      XXX

      Like

Leave a Reply

