Ikke kategoriseret

Book recommendation: Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

One of the best non-fiction books I have ever read is Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. I have read the book several times, and I often find myself reading a chapter or two of the book for inspiration. I actually love the book so much, I had to buy a new copy here in London because I forgot the one I have in Denmark. Talk about being addicted to a book!

I love Big Magic because the book is so incredibly inspiring, it is spot on and I absolutely love Elizabeth’s humour (anyone who has ever read anything by her know what I mean). She is hilarious! I also love that she is so brutally honest and relatable. She is not trying to be perfect or act like she has everything figured out. I just love that! Because honestly perfect and knowing everything is boring! And it is not something I can relate to at all.

Big Magic is about creativity, and the book is not only for aspiring writers – it is for everyone. Yes, everyone. Even those of you who doesn’t consider yourself creative. One of Elizabeth’s points are we are all creative. Don’t you just love that?

On the back of the book:

Readers of all ages and from all walks of life has drawn inspiration from Elizabeth Gilbert’s books for years. Now this beloved author digs deep into her own generative process to share her wisdom and unique perspective on creativity. With profound empathy wit and generosity, she offers potent insights into the mysterious nature of inspiration. Whether we are looking to write a book, make art, find new ways to address challenges in our work, embark on a dream long deferred, or simply infuse our everyday lives with more mindfulness and passion, Big Magic cracks open a world of wonder and joy.

For as long as I can remember I have loved writing and wanted to write. That’s the main reason I decided to pursue journalism (I am still pursuing it). I know I want to write a book at some point but I’m not in a hurry. Right now I just want to write – no matter the form. However, I knew I wanted to write more than the things I write at work. But for some reason it just never really happened. I’ve started more blogs than I can count but I always quit – sometimes almost before I even got started.

I know now why I haven’t been able to keep a blog. It’s not because I didn’t want to, or didn’t have the time. No, I was afraid. Afraid of failing, afraid of not being a good enough writer, afraid I was too fat (don’t ask what that has to do with it but it was on the fear list), afraid to put my thoughts out there, afraid people wouldn’t like it…… You get it. I was scared of pretty much everything.

But then I read Big Magic. It has literally changed me. I am not exaggerating. Yes, I am still scared and fear all of the above things. However, I now refuse to let them control me. I am in control of my life. Not my fear.

I am writing on this blog. I try to write at least 500 words every day – some of it ends up here. Some of it doesn’t. Some of it I save. Some of it I throw out. But I write. I am writing my little heart out every day. I have also started doing yoga, meditating and even taking the occasional dance lesson. All thanks to this book. I am telling you – it is life changing!

Have you read Big Magic?

Love & Happiness,

Heidi

Leave a Reply

